Getting to know the Vezina Trophy

Tuesday, 06.10.2008 / 11:51 AM ET / Features
Share with your Friends

Getting to know the Vezina Trophy
The Vezina Trophy
newjerseydevils.com – Martin Brodeur has won his share as the NHL's top goaltender. But what's the scoop on the presitigious Vezina Trophy?

Leo Dandurand, Louis Letourneau and Joe Cattarinich, former owners of the Montreal Canadiens, presented the trophy to the National Hockey League in 1926-27 in memory of Georges Vezina, outstanding goalkeeper of the Canadiens who collapsed during an NHL game on November 28, 1925, and died of tuberculosis a few months later.

Until the 1981-82 season, the Vezina Trophy was awarded to the team allowing the fewest goals in the regular season. The winning team would then present it to the goaltender playing in the greatest number of games during the season.

Brodeur won the Vezina Trophy in 2003, 2004, 2007 and 2008.