The scoop on the Frank J. Selke Trophy

Thursday, 06.12.2008 / 10:15 AM ET / Features
New Jersey Devils
Share with your Friends

The scoop on the Frank J. Selke Trophy
Frank J. Selke Trophy
newjerseydevils.com – Devils center John Madden earned one back in 2000-01. But what's the skinny on the NHL's Frank J. Selke Trophy?

The annual award is presented "to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game."

The winner is selected in a poll by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular season.

It was first presented to the NHL in 1977 by the league's Board of Governors in honor of Frank J. Selke, one of the architects of championship teams in Montreal and Toronto.

Madden was named a Selke finalist for the fourth time in 2008. He captured the award in 2001 and was runner-up in 2002-03 and 2003-04.