2009 Draft Watch: First-round history

Friday, 06.12.2009 / 3:51 PM ET / Features
New Jersey Devils
Share with your Friends

2009 Draft Watch: First-round history
newjerseydevils.com – The Devils hold the rights to the 23rd overall pick in this year's Entry Draft at the Bell Centre in Montreal (7 p.m. ET, VERSUS). 

New Jersey has previously used the 23rd pick four other times in club history:

Player Position Round Year
Nicklas Bergfors RW 1st 2005
Jeff Christian LW 2nd 1988
Ricard Persson D 2nd 1987
Craig Billington G 2nd 1984

Here a look at all the Devils' past first-round picks:

Player Position Pick Year
Rocky Trottier RW 8th 1982
Ken Daneyko D 18th 1982
John MacLean RW 6th 1983
Kirk Muller C 2nd 1984
Craig Wolanin D 3rd 1985
Neil Brady C 3rd 1986
Brendan Shanahan RW 2nd 1987
Corey Foster D 12th 1988
Bill Guerin RW 5th 1989
Jason Miller C 18th 1989
Martin Brodeur G 20th 1990
Scott Niedermayer D 3rd 1991
Brian Rolston C 11th 1991
Jason Smith D 18th 1992
Denis Pederson C 13th 1993
Vadim Sharifijanov RW 25th 1994
Petr Sykora C 18th 1995
Lance Ward D 10th 1996
J.F. Damphousse G 24th 1997
Mike Van Ryn D 26th 1998
Scott Gomez C 27th 1998
Ari Ahonen G 27th 1999
David Hale D 22nd 2000
Adrian Foster LW 28th 2001
Zach Parise LW 17th 2003
Travis Zajac C 20th 2004
Nicklas Bergfors RW 23rd 2005
Matthew Corrente D 30th 2006
Mattias Tedenby LW 24th 2008