njdtv MyDevils Account

2014 NHL Awards return to Las Vegas on June 24

Broadcaster George Stroumboulopoulos to host event at Encore at Wynn Las Vegas

Monday, 04.21.2014 / 1:43 PM / News
Share with your Friends

2014 NHL Awards return to Las Vegas on June 24
The NHL Awards\u2122 return to Las Vegas this summer at the world-famous Encore at Wynn Las Vegas, the NHL announced today. Renowned broadcaster George Stroumboulopoulos will host the event, which will be held on Tuesday, June 24, at the Encore Theater.

NEW YORK -- The NHL Awards™ return to Las Vegas this summer at the world-famous Encore at Wynn Las Vegas, the National Hockey League announced today. Renowned television and radio broadcaster George Stroumboulopoulos, the recently-named host of the NHL on Rogers, will host the NHL Awards, which will be held on Tuesday, June 24, at the Encore Theater. The NHL Awards will air live at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT on NBCSN in the U.S. and CBC in Canada.

When the biggest stars from the NHL® and hockey fans from around the world descend on Las Vegas in June, it will mark the fifth time the NHL has honored the best hockey players in the world and the top performances of the season in Las Vegas, the second year at Wynn Las Vegas, and the sixth year of a successful partnership with the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority (LVCVA).

A first-time host of the NHL Awards, Stroumboulopoulos, popular in Canada and the U.S. for his work as a television and radio broadcaster as well as an advocate of numerous charitable efforts, is no stranger to hockey. Beginning October 2014, the long-time NHL fan, with a particular affinity for the Montreal Canadiens, will anchor NHL coverage on Rogers, including hosting Hockey Night in Canada. Strombo also will be the studio anchor for Sunday night NHL Hometown Hockey broadcasts on City, and will host additional NHL broadcasts on Sportsnet and other Rogers networks and platforms.

Celebrating what has truly been A Season Like No Other™ with history made both on and off the ice, the 2014 NHL Awards will honor the best regular-season players in a wide range of categories, including most valuable player (Hart Trophy), outstanding goaltender (Vezina Trophy), outstanding defenseman (Norris Trophy) and outstanding rookie (Calder Trophy); the Ted Lindsay Award, which is presented annually to the "most outstanding player" in the NHL as voted by fellow members of the National Hockey League Players' Association (NHLPA) also will be awarded.

Additionally, a special announcement about the next-generation of hockey videogames from Electronic Arts will be made during the show.

Finalists for each award will be announced beginning Tuesday, April 22nd, with nominees for each award revealed daily. Following is the schedule of nominee announcements:

Tuesday, April 22
Lady Byng Trophy (player best combining sportsmanship and ability)
Finalists: Patrick Marleau, San Jose; Ryan O'Reilly, Colorado; Martin St. Louis, New York Rangers

Wednesday, April 23

Calder Trophy (top rookie)
Finalists: Tyler Johnson, Tampa Bay; Nathan MacKinnon, Colorado; Ondrej Palat, Tampa Bay

Thursday, April 24
Selke Trophy (forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game)
Finalists: Patrice Bergeron, Boston; Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles; Jonathan Toews, Chicago

Friday, April 25
Vezina Trophy (top goaltender)
Finalists: Ben Bishop, Tampa Bay; Tuukka Rask, Boston; Semyon Varlamov, Colorado

Monday, April 28
Norris Trophy (top defenseman)
Finalists: Zdeno Chara, Boston; Duncan Keith, Chicago; Shea Weber, Nashville

Tuesday, April 29
Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award presented by Bridgestone
Finalists: Dustin Brown, Los Angeles; Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim; Jonathan Toews, Chicago

Wednesday, April 30
Masterton Trophy (perseverance and dedication to hockey)
Finalists: Jaromir Jagr, Devils; Manny Malhotra, Carolina; Dominic Moore, NY Rangers

Thursday, May 1
Hart Trophy (most valuable player to his team)
Finalists: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh; Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim; Claude Giroux, Philadelphia

Friday, May 2
NHL Foundation Player Award (community service)
Finalists: Patrice Bergeron, Boston; Brent Burns, San Jose; Duncan Keith, Chicago

Monday, May 5
Ted Lindsay Award (most outstanding player as voted by the players)
Finalists: Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh; Ryan Getzlaf, Anaheim; Claude Giroux, Philadelphia

Tuesday, May 6
Jack Adams Award (top head coach)

The winners of the NHL's regular-season statistical-based awards likewise will be recognized in Las Vegas. This season, Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby captured his second career Art Ross Trophy as the League scoring champion, Washington Capitals right wing Alex Ovechkin claimed his fourth career Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy as the League's goal-scoring leader and Los Angeles Kings goaltender Jonathan Quick won his first career William M. Jennings Trophy as the goaltender who plays at least 25 games for the club allowing the fewest goals.




1 p - BOS 82 54 19 9 261 177 117
2 y - PIT 82 51 24 7 249 207 109
3 x - TBL 82 46 27 9 240 215 101
4 x - MTL 82 46 28 8 215 204 100
5 x - NYR 82 45 31 6 218 193 96
6 x - PHI 82 42 30 10 236 235 94
7 x - CBJ 82 43 32 7 231 216 93
8 x - DET 82 39 28 15 222 230 93
9 WSH 82 38 30 14 235 240 90
10 NJD 82 35 29 18 197 208 88
11 OTT 82 37 31 14 236 265 88
12 TOR 82 38 36 8 231 256 84
13 CAR 82 36 35 11 207 230 83
14 NYI 82 34 37 11 225 267 79
15 FLA 82 29 45 8 196 268 66
16 BUF 82 21 51 10 157 248 52


J. Jagr 82 24 43 16 67
P. Elias 65 18 35 -4 53
T. Zajac 80 18 30 3 48
A. Henrique 77 25 18 3 43
M. Zidlicky 81 12 30 -3 42
M. Ryder 82 18 16 -6 34
A. Greene 82 8 24 3 32
E. Gelinas 60 7 22 -3 29
D. Zubrus 82 13 13 1 26
R. Clowe 43 7 19 -10 26
C. Schneider 16 15 12 .921 1.97
M. Brodeur 19 14 6 .901 2.51


(c) New Jersey Devils 2014 - All Rights Reserved
newjerseydevils.com is the official web site of the New Jersey Devils, a member team of the National Hockey League ("NHL"). NHL, the NHL Shield, the word mark and image of the Stanley Cup and NHL Conference logos are registered trademarks of the National Hockey League. All NHL logos and marks and NHL team logos and marks as well as all other proprietary materials depicted herein are the property of the NHL and the respective NHL teams and may not be reproduced without the prior written consent of NHL Enterprises, L.P. Copyright © 1999-2013 New Jersey Devils and the National Hockey League. All Rights Reserved.

Privacy Policy | AdChoices | Advertise With Us | Contact Us | Terms of UseEmploymentNHL.com Terms of Use |  Site Map